Posted by: gaiusc | 2 June, 2010

Splinter Cell in the Mediterranean

Anybody been playing this new game?
I’m after getting stuck on one of the missions and I just can’t seem to get it right.

Basically, I’m a super-soldier in the Israeli special forces equipped with more firepower than Robocop and more tech gear than the Apple product development lab.

I’ve breezed through earlier missions, which included bulldozing houses in Gaza, dropping smart bombs on highways in Lebanon and expelling Palestinians from their houses in the West Bank.

Now this mission is really bugging me. Basically, a load of ships are trying to break the blockade on Gaza and we have to stop them. There are six ships and I can take the first five with no bother but the sixth one with a few hundred civilians on board is the problem. Please help me understand what I’m doing wrong:

-I’m kind of in a hurry to get the good stuff so I rush right in but I think I saw a warning message about the ships being in “international waters”. I’m not sure what this is really. It immediately causes me to earn minus points. What’s happening here? Am I supposed to wait until the ships enter Israeli/Gaza waters? That’s really boring though. Why can’t we just annex the Eastern Med to make it Israeli waterspace?

-I’m dropping down from a helicopter in the middle of the night to cause maximum confusion but I’m immediately getting attacked by hundreds of people wielding clubs. Apparently shooting them fails the mission, which is a bit dumb because it’s like Left 4 Dead but not being allowed to kill the zombies. Would I be better off carrying out my attack in daytime? Is my problem the sounds of gunfire before boarding that makes the people on board nervous and instantly attack me?

-Apparently, there’s unlockable side-missions which involve executing terrorists in foreign nations but using the passports of citizens in European countries. No matter what I do, those nations end up hating me. What on earth am I doing wrong?

-On the strategic level in the game, I was able to select what items should be restricted from going into Gaza as part of the blockade. I clicked on “coriander” and “instant coffee” for the laugh but I think this might be causing me to suffer a diplomatic relations hit. What do you guys reckon?

It’s really annoying me that I can’t get through this mission. Why on earth are the people on the sixth ship fighting back? You’d swear we were pirates or something!

Leave a Reply

Categories

